You are here: Home

2016 JLOS Recognition Awards: Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2016 JLOS Recognition Awards (JRAs) are now open Nominations for the 2016 JLOS Recognition Awards (JRAs) are now open


The Justice, Law and Order Sector (JLOS) will on October 27th hold its 2016 edition of the JLOS Recognition Awards. The Annual JLOS Recognition Awards are a highly visible component of the Sector’s goal of setting standards of excellence in the administration of Justice and the rule of law by honoring and recognizing the efforts and achievements of individuals and institutions. 


The JLOS Recognition Awards are designed for recognition of individuals and institutions /organizations that have demonstrated exceptional good performance in the administration of justice and the rule in the period between July 2015 and June 2016.  



The 2016 JLOS Recognition awards are open to all JLOS institutions, employees within JLOS member institutions and partners of the sector in the civil service (other government sectors), civil society, academia, corporate/business world, the general public and the media.

A full list and description of JLOS institutions is available here



Nominations are hereby requested for deserving institutions or persons in the awards categories described below (with the exception of the Lifetime Achievement Award). To nominate, send an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and state the institutions / agency / organization you are nominating in particular category and briefly state reason(s) (for the nomination) in not more 100 words. Nominations are open till October 16 2016 at 23.00hrs (East Africa Time)

NOTE: The 2016 JLOS Recognition awards focus on achievements and performance in the period between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016.



1. Excellence and Quality Award

This award recognizes high quality and excellent work in a singular instance, in a project with significant importance or impact to the institution and the Justice, Law and Order Sector, or the consistency of high quality work performed over a long period of time.  This award recognizes efforts to do excellent work while maintaining efficiency and in meeting and achieving sector goals and objectives.

Award recipient: Institution(s)


2. Innovation Award

For JLOS institutions that value creativity and employee feedback, this category is designed to reward those who provide a new idea to improve work practices,  efficiency, quality of services, or advance the goals and mission of the institution and the sector in general.  To qualify for this award the innovative idea presented must be adopted and implemented by a given institution with measurable improvement in the above areas.   

Award recipient: Institution(s)


3. Customer Service Award

This award is designed to recognize service that consistently goes above and beyond to meet the needs and expectations of customers/clients in the Justice, Law and Order Sector.  This recognizes the ability to provide the best services to the public; providing excellent knowledge and information to the customer about the institution/department; and commitment to working expeditiously to resolve customer complaints/situations creatively.

Award recipient: Institution(s)


4. Human Rights Defender Award

This category is designed to award employees or teams within JLOS member institutions that have exemplified excellence in diversity and social justice work.  Recognizing efforts of reaching out to support and/or advocate on behalf of diverse communities or marginalized/vulnerable groups, conveying excellent knowledge regarding a diverse community and/or promoting a diverse community to the JLOS community.  

Award recipient: Individual(s)


5. Milestone Achievement Award

This award is for recognizing individuals or teams within JLOS institutions that have met a specific and measurable goal that is above and beyond what may be in a performance plan or is typically expected in a given financial year.  The goal can be set by the individual, a group, or defined by management and should be met within a specific defined timeline.  This should reward those who succeed in meeting a difficult, challenging, and hard to reach goal and can be an incentive towards meeting the goal within the given timeline, with defined or limited resources, and with a high level of quality.

This category is also designed to recognize an individual or team that breaks a standing institutional record that relates to the institution’s mission.  The record should be clearly defined and quantitatively measurable.  

 Award recipient: Individual /organization


6. Public Affairs and Media Relations Award

This category is designed to recognize JLOS institutions that excel in matters of public and media relations through implementation of effective publicity strategies and programs. This award is given to institutions that have successfully and positively changed public opinion and perceptions through media campaigns and citizen engagement using various media platforms.

Award recipient: Institution


7. Media Reporting Award

This awards recognizes individuals in the media fraternity who have developed programs that have marketed and considerably improved the profile of a JLOS member institution, or a sector program/initiative on a given media platform (print, online or electronic).

Award recipient: Individual


8. Partnership and Collaboration Award

This award recognizes an entity or organization (government and non-government) outside the Justice, Law and Order Sector that has demonstrated outstanding partnership, cooperation and collaboration with a JLOS institution or the sector as a whole in the implementation of activities or programs that greatly contribute to the administration of justice and the rule of law. 

Note: This ward category excludes JLOS Development Partners/Donor groups

Award recipient: Organization/Institution


9. Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes outstanding individuals who have diligently and faithfully served within the Justice, Law and Order Sector for a considerable period of time – within which they greatly contributed to the achievement of the institution’s/sector goals and objectives. This category is designed for retired or about to retire civil servants within the Justice, Law and Order Sector or officials (dead or alive) who have served with exception in sector institutions or structures for extended time periods.

Award recipient: Individual(s)


Published: October 7 2016

For more information on the JLOS Recognition Awards, contact the JLOS Secretariat on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call +256(414)-253207

More in this category: « JLOS Open Day